Lens Diaries Go Now
Glamour, Beauty, Nude, Models, Photographers

*    |  Register  

Go Back   Garage Glamour™ > Garage Glamour™ Main Forums > Main Community Forum

Main Community Forum General Modeling & Photography Forum
Adult posts prohibited!>>Please Read Our GUIDELINES before posting!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
A \"book\" question - Has this ever happened to you?
Old 09-23-2005, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Free Member

Member GG#: 35737
Comments: 0

David Bunch is offline IP: 209.102.150.225

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!

Many who know me have often asked "Why don't you shoot more? There's tons of beautiful women down south!". The following is another recent exchange upon showing my book to a Prospective Subject:

PS: Where did you get these?

Me: They're mine...

PS: I know they're your prints, but who took the photos?

Me: I did. I'm a photographer, been doing it for quite a while...

PS: Sure, uh huh. Really? Well, whoever took them, they're very nice pictures.

I've encountered this same disbelief more times than I can count. This includes friends as well, not just subjects. It's genuinely got to the point that I rarely show my book to anyone. More than a few have just come right out and said "But can you prove they're yours? I mean, anyone can put some 8x10s in an album thingy".

Is this a "southern thang", or have others across this vast land had this happen to them?

At first I got insulted, then angry, but now...they do have a point. Given how easy it is to put anyone's work up on a site or port and claim ownership, it has to be incredibly easy to download images from any site and print them up. Granted, the novice has no idea how large the images would have to be for an 8x10 or larger, but they do know the possibility exists.

The "dancers" thread inspired this query.....thanks Rick for the idea.

David